Write by the Rails

freight train

I decided one day to see if I could
write right right by rails,
so I set a up lawn chair
right by the rails
and commenced writing
only to find that the distraction of
hundreds of tons of blurred freight train
whipping by within feet of my writing spot
was causing me to write wrong right by the rails–
I should have known better than trying to
write right right by the rails, right?

About stevenddorsey

I have been an avid writer for as long as I can remember. I enjoy composing poetry, lyrics, children's books and fiction for young adults. I have traveled the world extensively in my 25+ year career as an International Development professional and executive. I have lived in Europe, Latin America, and Africa. I speak Spanish and French. I married Rachel Miltimore in 1985. We have five children and five grandchildren. We currently live in Manassas, Virginia. We enjoy writing children's books together.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

