A Lunch Hour Walk in Washington, DC

I saw a girl with purple hair
and vivid violet lips,
and thought this look so suited her,
I stared and nearly tripped.

Two lovers argued face to face
with words as sharp as knives.
Then he surrendered with embrace,
and there they stayed entwined.

A bike messenger flew by fast
singing the Marseillaise.
His loud shout as he passed,
“L’étendard sanglant est levé!”

A school of suits and leather shoes
swam by in harried haste.
Power lunches with lots of booze
Seemed de rigueur today.

A hawker barked, “New ‘Street Sense’ news!
Two dollars we suggest.
Help the homeless, please do,
Good day and may God bless.”

A homeless man asked help for food,
just a snack to get by.
I bought him a bowl of beef stew
and slice of apple pie.

About stevenddorsey

I have been an avid writer for as long as I can remember. I enjoy composing poetry, lyrics, children's books and fiction for young adults. I have traveled the world extensively in my 25+ year career as an International Development professional and executive. I have lived in Europe, Latin America, and Africa. I speak Spanish and French. I married Rachel Miltimore in 1985. We have five children and five grandchildren. We currently live in Manassas, Virginia. We enjoy writing children's books together.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

